Looking to call
our phone number?

Sales: 0800 012 4125

We can call you back

Support: 0845 557 7427

Existing Client Login

Why don't we show our phone number?

Our aim is to give you the lowest possible prices for your booking. We don't have expensive call centres so we can pass on these savings to you.

Book online quickly and easily

Our online booking system is quick, simple and easy to understand.

CSCS Test & Card Booking

Group Booking (3 or more people)

Apply for a Construction NVQ

How can we contact you?

You can contact us by sending an email to support@constructionsupport.co.uk, or you can contact us. Existing clients can call 0845 557 7427 for customer support enquiries.

We will call you back

x Close
Your Name:
Phone Number:
Department: Call Me Back >>
Thank you, a member of the support staff will be calling you shortly.


x Close

This site uses cookies. We have already set cookies which are essential for the operation of this site.

Cookies are small files that get saved to your computer from our website.They help us identify your browser's previous activity and preferences on our website without identifying you personally.

This allows us to improve your user experience while maintaining your own privacy.

Health & Safety Test Every person wishing to work on a construction site in the UK needs to pass a health and safety test. Passing is also necessary to apply for a skill card such as a CSCS card.
Book Health & Safety Test…
CSCS, JIB Cards Required by most construction sites, skill cards show your qualifications skills, and health & safety test pass.
Apply or Renew Your Card…
Construction NVQ Get your NVQ while at work with our on-site NVQ assessment. A qualified assessor will come to your workplace to assess you.
Book NVQ Assessment…
Free Mock CSCS Test We are offering a completely free mock CSCS Test at our South East London offices. Test you health and safety knowledge in exam conditions for free!
Book your Mock CSCS Test…

The CSCS Health, Safety & Environment Test – Types of Test and Card Types

Types of CSCS cardWhen you apply for a CSCS Smart Card, you will in most cases need to pass a health, safety & environment test before the card can be awarded. The Construction Skills Certification Scheme covers more than 350 jobs, all of which have different health and safety needs according to their emphases. A scaffolder, for example, will need to pass the Working at Heights CSCS Test before he or she is eligible for a CISRS (Construction Industry Scaffolders Registry Scheme) card. The types of CSCS Card available vary according to the site position you fill: so you need to be sure that you are applying for the right card in order that you take the correct test.

How Will You Know What CSCS Card You Need?

You’ll know the kind of CSCS Card you need to apply for once you have contacted Construction Support Line. You can trace the kind of card you need against your occupation using links on our site – or call us and talk to an agent. Your agent will talk to you about the kind of work that you do, and the qualifications (NVQs or SVQs) that you already hold. Your levels of qualification will determine the type of card you should be applying for and thus the type of CSCS Test you need to take.

There are 11 types of CSCS Card, which are colour coded for easy identification. These cards are: red (four types); green; blue (two types); gold (two types); black; white and yellow; white and grey; and yellow.

What Do the Colour Codes Mean on CSCS Cards?

The colour coding on the cards refers to classes of occupation and skill level. The four types of red card are intended to cover different situations where workers either have experience but no qualifications, or qualifications but no experience. The type of CSCS Health, Safety & Environment Test you will have to complete in order to qualify for a red card depends on your trade or site position rather than your level of qualification, though – so you can’t know what kind of test you need just because you know what kind of card you need.

The colour coding of the CSCS Cards changes as you rise in terms of skills and experience. A green card is for basic site operatives (like labourers). Blue cards denote that an NVQ or SVQ level 2 has been achieved, or that you have achieved a similar qualification relevant to your trade. Gold cards denote NVQ and SVQ level 3, while black manager cards are equal to levels 4 and higher.

Case Studies of CSCS Health, Safety & Environment Test Routes

A site worker has an NVQ or SVQ Level 2 in industry appropriate qualifications. He or she is a scaffolder by trade. He or she must pass the Working at Heights CSCS Test before he or she qualifies for a Blue CSCS card.

A site operative has Construction NVQ Level 1, or is granted a recommendation by his or her employer. He or she must pass the Operative CSCS Health, Safety and Environment Test before qualifying for a Green CSCS card.

Posted under , , , ,
Please fill in the information below and one of our advisors will call you shortly.